COVID-19 and Your Case

FREE CONSULTATION 720-489-5848 720-489-5848
English English Spanish Spanish

Steps to Take After a Slip and Fall Accident at Work

Posted On: Wednesday, April 8, 2020

steps

Accidents at work are not something to be ignored. Even if you find yourself injured through seemingly no fault of your employer, like a slip and fall accident, you may find serious medical damages to your person, lost work time and pay, and may find out that you’re owed worker’s compensation for your injury. Colorado law requires all employers of both private and public companies to insure their employees, both part-time and full time, for any injuries and illnesses they get while on the job, whether or not that injury had anything directly to do with your job.

There are concrete steps you should take after your injury to make sure you get the full compensation and help you’re owed under Colorado law. As soon as the injury occurs, the clock starts ticking. Don’t be forced to pay your medical bills or cover expenses yourself.

Step 1: Report the Incident

You have 120 days from the time of the incident to report it. While, ideally, you will report the incident immediately as it happens, you may not necessarily need to medically as some complications arise later. If you notice pain or problems a few weeks after an incident, you may report it as long as it is within 120 days of the incident occurring.

Step 2: Seek Medical Help

If your injuries are life-threatening, then this should be step one. But if you manage to report the incident first, your next step is to seek medical help. Visit your doctor and explain what happened and any symptoms you’re having. Keep detailed logs of what you’re experiencing and what your doctor says or what they prescribe you as a result. These logs will come in handy later on.

Step 3: Evaluate What Happened

Premise liability recognizes that it is the proprietor or landlord’s duty to ensure the working environment is safe and is obligated to take steps to mitigate danger if it is brought to their attention. In order to win your slip and fall case, you must prove that:

  • The hazard was present
  • The hazard was not obvious
  • The owner should have been aware of the hazard
  • The owner was remise in their duties to mitigate the hazard

Proving fault, in this case, means one of the parties had been unreasonable and that resulted in the accident and this goes both ways to answer those questions for yourself as well.

Step 4: Get An Attorney

It’s your employer or building proprietor who has a team of attorneys waiting in the wings for these sort of cases. You need to get an experienced attorney on your side as quickly as possible. In addition to representing you in court, a lawyer can help you through the legal hoops and paperwork required during a case like this.

Don’t wait to get yourself a Denver slip and fall attorney. Time needs to be on your side.