As personal injury attorneys, we deal with a lot of individuals involved in motor vehicle accidents. When most people start “shopping” for motor vehicle coverage, they often are trying to save 15% in 15 minutes or trying to find the cheapest deal. Saving money is a good thing, but not when it comes to your own protection.
When reviewing your own insurance coverage make sure you have two things: med-pay coverage and a high UM/UIM policy. The Colorado Legislature recently passed a law that requires all insurance companies to provide a minimum of $5,000.00 in medical payments (or med-pay) unless it is specifically waived by the insured. This provides anyone injured in your vehicle a free benefit for medical expenses up to $5,000.00 and the law doesn’t require the driver to subrogate or “pay back” anyone for this benefit. It is important that you do not waive this coverage.
Good UM/UIM coverage is also invaluable to any insured on the road. UM/UIM coverage stands for Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. If you are struck by someone without insurance or carrying the lowest Colorado state limits of $25,000.00, the only remedy an injured party has is going against his own UM/UIM policy. Obviously the greater the injury, the more important it is to have a high policy in order to protect yourself and your family. For a couple extra dollars per month, you can protect everyone in your vehicle. My advice would be to look into increasing your UM/UIM to the highest possible amount available to you from your insurance company.
Hopefully, you will never need a personal injury attorney. However, if you have any questions regarding an injury or proper insurance coverage, Lampert & Walsh, LLC is here to help answer any questions you may have. We are located in Southeast Denver and we are looking out for Colorado drivers.